collapse

* Notice

Important notice (31 July): We have recently recovered from a nearly two day downtime due to an attack. No data was lost or stolen but the server has been reinstalled as a precaution. Please let us know if you encounter any issues. We apologise for the unacceptable inconvenience. Please read here for more information.

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: "Missing Data" broken  (Read 5728 times)

Offline [archive] darklight_tr

  • Fledgling
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Reputation: +0/-0
Re: "Missing Data" broken
« on: February 03, 2008, 03:45:00 pm »
  • Best Answer
  •                 Hello,
     
     Bertram sent me the e-mail to start the "Missing Data" quest but when I go to him he won't give me the quest.  I looked at a FAQ and actually found the CD-ROM that is involved with the quest but he still won't give the quest to me.  Is there any way to reset the quest so I can complete it?
     
     I am playing with the Unofficial Patch v4.5.
     
     Thanks!                        

     

                                                      

    Offline [archive] Wesp5

    • Antediluvian
    • *****
    • Posts: 2767
    • Reputation: +0/-0
    Re: "Missing Data" broken
    « Reply #1 on: February 04, 2008, 05:51:00 am »
  • Best Answer
  •                
    darklight_tr posted:

     Bertram sent me the e-mail to start the "Missing Data" quest but when I go to him he won't give me the quest.  I looked at a FAQ and actually found the CD-ROM that is involved with the quest but he still won't give the quest to me.  Is there any way to reset the quest so I can complete it?
     

     
     That's a bug I introduced in 4.5 because I accidentally copied the basic version of the dlg into the plus folder. An easy solution would be to copy plus/dlg/santa monica/bertram.dlg from the 4.4 patch over or from the soon to be released 4.6 patch and then speak with him again.                        

     

                                                      

    Offline [archive] darklight_tr

    • Fledgling
    • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Reputation: +0/-0
    Re: "Missing Data" broken
    « Reply #2 on: February 08, 2008, 01:50:00 am »
  • Best Answer
  •                
    Wesp5 posted:
    That's a bug I introduced in 4.5 because I accidentally copied the basic version of the dlg into the plus folder. An easy solution would be to copy plus/dlg/santa monica/bertram.dlg from the 4.4 patch over or from the soon to be released 4.6 patch and then speak with him again.

     
     Alas, I installed the v4.6 patch (plus version) and he still won't give me the quest.  Is it because I already have the item in my inventory?                        

     

                                                      

    Offline [archive] Wesp5

    • Antediluvian
    • *****
    • Posts: 2767
    • Reputation: +0/-0
    Re: "Missing Data" broken
    « Reply #3 on: February 08, 2008, 05:30:00 am »
  • Best Answer
  •                
    darklight_tr posted:

     Alas, I installed the v4.6 patch (plus version) and he still won't give me the quest.  Is it because I already have the item in my inventory?
     

     
     No. But you need to restart from a saved game in which you are not already on the Santa Monica hub.                        

     

                                                      

    Offline [archive] darklight_tr

    • Fledgling
    • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Reputation: +0/-0
    Re: "Missing Data" broken
    « Reply #4 on: February 08, 2008, 11:11:00 pm »
  • Best Answer
  •                
    Wesp5 posted:
    No. But you need to restart from a saved game in which you are not already on the Santa Monica hub.

     
     Hmm...I restarted from a save where I started in Downtown.  I used the taxi to get to Santa Monica and he still doesn't offer the quest.                        

     

                                                      

    Offline [archive] Wesp5

    • Antediluvian
    • *****
    • Posts: 2767
    • Reputation: +0/-0
    Re: "Missing Data" broken
    « Reply #5 on: February 09, 2008, 09:00:00 am »
  • Best Answer
  •                
    darklight_tr posted:

     Hmm...I restarted from a save where I started in Downtown.  I used the taxi to get to Santa Monica and he still doesn't offer the quest.
     

     
     Strange. What is the value of G.Gary_Known?
     
     P.S.: I checked this out and there is a chance to talk to Gary and never ask him who he is, then the CD quest will not be triggered. I fixed that for 4.7, for 4.6 just set "G.Gary_Know = 1" in the console if you took that road.                        

     

                                                      

    Offline [archive] darklight_tr

    • Fledgling
    • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Reputation: +0/-0
    Re: "Missing Data" broken
    « Reply #6 on: February 10, 2008, 04:33:00 am »
  • Best Answer
  •                
    Wesp5 posted:
    Strange. What is the value of G.Gary_Known?
     
     P.S.: I checked this out and there is a chance to talk to Gary and never ask him who he is, then the CD quest will not be triggered. I fixed that for 4.7, for 4.6 just set "G.Gary_Know = 1" in the console if you took that road.

     
     Well, I did as you suggested and G.Gary_Know was set to 0 (G.Gary_Known was 1).  I set it to 1 and no dice, he still doesn't offer me the quest.  I even tried leaving Santa Monica and returning.
     
     I guess I'm just not meant to complete this one. happy                        

     

                                                      

    Offline [archive] Wesp5

    • Antediluvian
    • *****
    • Posts: 2767
    • Reputation: +0/-0
    Re: "Missing Data" broken
    « Reply #7 on: February 10, 2008, 11:34:00 am »
  • Best Answer
  •                
    darklight_tr posted:

     Well, I did as you suggested and G.Gary_Know was set to 0 (G.Gary_Known was 1).
     

     
     Oops, I meant G.Gary_Known and this should have triggered it. Strange...                        

     

                                                      

    Offline [archive] darklight_tr

    • Fledgling
    • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Reputation: +0/-0
    "Missing Data" broken
    « Reply #8 on: February 18, 2008, 04:54:00 am »
                    This has been fixed as of Unofficial Patch v4.7.  Thanks!                        

     

                                                      

     

    SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2020, SimplePortal