PlanetVampire.com Forum

Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines => Bloodlines Modding => Topic started by: Jenya on March 07, 2019, 05:04:30 PM

Title: Modding help needed
Post by: Jenya on March 07, 2019, 05:04:30 PM
Hi! I come back to my old VtM:B overhaul project and when I started to model hands I ran onto this issue. After I export model the seams on the hand become visible and I can't get rid of them. I have tried different versions of import/export script but no luck. Modding guide have nothing about this issue as well.
On the screenshots default hands with no seams and mine where I only fixed nails. Both use same default textures so issue not related to textures.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Barabbah on March 07, 2019, 08:55:51 PM
Maybe the alpha channel or the normal map? I'm not expert in hands....
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Jenya on March 07, 2019, 09:59:14 PM
As I mentioned it is not texture issue, both featured screenshots using default untouched textures.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Barabbah on March 08, 2019, 10:17:19 PM
Try to attach both of the textures, maybe I or anyone else can find where's the issue
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Ghanima_Atreides on March 08, 2019, 10:28:16 PM
I think Jenya is saying that the textures are identical, but a seam appears after the model is exported.

Sadly, I know nothing about modelling in order to help. :(
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Jenya on March 08, 2019, 10:34:50 PM
Try to attach both of the textures, maybe I or anyone else can find where's the issue

The problem is not caused by textures. I have same issue with hand models which have only a diffuse map.
I think Jenya is saying that the textures are identical, but a seam appears after the model is exported.

Sadly, I know nothing about modelling in order to help. :(
That's exactly what I meant, thank you.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Barabbah on March 09, 2019, 08:07:30 AM
Sorry, I meant the model....  :facepalm:
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Ghanima_Atreides on March 09, 2019, 02:40:18 PM
Here's a thought.

From what I can tell, the underside becomes darker after being exported, so I wondered it it might not be an idea to lighten the bottom half of the texture as a workaround. It's not exactly ideal, but in case a better solution cannot be found...  :chinscratch:
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Jenya on March 09, 2019, 11:56:16 PM
Here's a thought.

From what I can tell, the underside becomes darker after being exported, so I wondered it it might not be an idea to lighten the bottom half of the texture as a workaround. It's not exactly ideal, but in case a better solution cannot be found...  :chinscratch:

It's not an option, because it will work only in one particular position in the particular light. As soon as character will move or light will change you will notice that textures are weird.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: deicide on March 10, 2019, 12:55:53 AM
So can you attach both models? Maybe a comparison, binary or otherwise, could provide some insight on what was changed after export and reimport.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Jenya on March 10, 2019, 11:45:30 AM
So can you attach both models? Maybe a comparison, binary or otherwise, could provide some insight on what was changed after export and reimport.

It is attached by default. You cannot deattach anything because after that model cannot be export. I also tried export model just after inport (so I did absolutly nothing to model) and had the same issue.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Barabbah on March 10, 2019, 01:45:38 PM
.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Jenya on March 10, 2019, 11:01:54 PM
Here both models.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: deicide on March 11, 2019, 12:33:47 PM
It is attached by default.
Will look into it, although my last modding attempt was nearly 10 years ago. Hopefully, someone else will catch the ball as well.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: ZeqMacaw on March 21, 2019, 02:36:27 PM
I decompiled (with Crowbar 0.58) the MDL file provided in the attached link several posts above. (There are two MDL files in the attachment, but they are both identical, although names are different.)

I also decompiled (with Crowbar 0.58 and with MDL2SMD in the SDK) the MDL file found in the game.

Comparing the meshes in Blender, the mesh from the attachment shows different "vertex-per-face normals" at the problem area shown in the OP's screenshot. The image below highlights in green the "good" vertex normals, i.e. one normal per vertex. The red highlights show the "bad" vertex normals, which show two normals at those vertexes, causing the incorrect shading at those mesh edges. (I also highlighted in green the two main selections to show the vertex normals.)

Maybe the 3D tool you used assigned a "hard edge" where the textures meet, or it assigned different smoothing groups to each texture.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Jenya on March 21, 2019, 02:47:10 PM
I decompiled (with Crowbar 0.58) the MDL file provided in the attached link several posts above. (There are two MDL files in the attachment, but they are both identical, although names are different.)

I also decompiled (with Crowbar 0.58 and with MDL2SMD in the SDK) the MDL file found in the game.

Comparing the meshes in Blender, the mesh from the attachment shows different "vertex-per-face normals" at the problem area shown in the OP's screenshot. The image below highlights in green the "good" vertex normals, i.e. one normal per vertex. The red highlights show the "bad" vertex normals, which show two normals at those vertexes, causing the incorrect shading at those mesh edges.

Maybe the 3D tool you used assigned a "hard edge" where the textures meet, or it assigned different smoothing groups to each texture.
Than you. I dunno why it happens, cos I use old version of blender and how does it changes normals or smoothing groups just by importing model is a mystery to me.
Do you have any suggestions how to fix it in blender?
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: DDLullu on March 23, 2019, 12:42:22 AM
I have change the exporter with a nice pup_block  so you can choose what you  want  to  save in the MDL By default the normals are not checked.

You should be able to make a nice seem with the new exporter if you choose the right things to export.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Jenya on March 23, 2019, 03:10:14 PM
I have change the exporter with a nice pup_block  so you can choose what you  want  to  save in the MDL By default the normals are not checked.

You should be able to make a nice seem with the new exporter if you choose the right things to export.
Thanks a lot! It finally works as it should.
Title: Re: Modding help needed
Post by: Wesp5 on March 23, 2019, 03:48:14 PM
I have change the exporter with a nice pup_block  so you can choose what you  want  to  save in the MDL By default the normals are not checked.

Thanks, I'll add this to your other scripts in the Unofficial Patch!