collapse

* Notice

Important notice: Microsoft has been blocking mail from PlanetVampire.com, possibly for the past month. If you have a Hotmail, Outlook, or Live.com email address (or have been trying to message a member with such an email address) your messages might not have got through. You may also have been unable to receive password reset/activation emails. We are aware of this problem and are trying to resolve this issue with Microsoft. If you are having problems getting access to your account, please email Sam with the address networking [at] samspin [dot] net . Update: We have managed to get ourselves removed from Symantec's blocklist, which Microsoft appears to use. You may wish to try again if you have been having problems.

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: DDS plugin?  (Read 408 times)

Online Malkav

  • Antediluvian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1382
  • Reputation: 372
DDS plugin?
« on: September 10, 2017, 04:07:52 PM »
I need help. Some time ago I have reinstalled my OS and now I can't find the dds plugin for gimp anymore.
Or is there another free graphics program that supports the dds format?


Co Author of Camarilla Edition Mod

Offline Wesp5

  • Administratrix
  • Antediluvian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4661
  • Reputation: 826
  • Unofficial Patcher
Re: DDS plugin?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2017, 08:25:17 PM »
If you are on windows I recommend paint.net!

Offline Psycho-A

  • Ancillus
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Reputation: 26
  • Bloodlines SDK developer
Re: DDS plugin?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2017, 06:32:49 PM »
Bloodlines SDK have DDS and VTF plugins for Photoshop and Paint.net which auto-installed on first SDK launch.
And yes - if you're using DDS for creating textures for VTMB, then it's outdated and bad method since SDK have its own converters from any image format. They use menu launch method and Windows context menu items.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2017, 06:35:15 PM by Psycho-A »

Offline Hamisato

  • sbobetonline24
  • Fledgling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Reputation: -2
Re: DDS plugin?
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2017, 09:17:25 AM »
I think your idea is very good.

Offline FleshArtist

  • Infernalist
  • Ancillus
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Reputation: 14
Re: DDS plugin?
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2017, 10:13:49 AM »
Paint.net has a built in DDS plugin I believe, but it's not as effective as GIMP, at least in my perspective as far as the actual texturing goes. I was forced to use paint.net temporarily when GIMP started crashing at program launch on an old computer, and you couldn't get as much done with it, even if it is a little more stable. I have the DDS plugin for GIMP so if you'd like, I can send it to you in an attachment and you would only need to install it in Users/gimp.2.8.

Alternatively, you could work with both simultaneously by texturing an image in GIMP, then converting it in paint.net which should do just fine, even if it's a little less convenient.

Online Malkav

  • Antediluvian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1382
  • Reputation: 372
Re: DDS plugin?
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2017, 08:12:42 AM »
Thanks for the offer, FleshArtist. Please send it.
Co Author of Camarilla Edition Mod

Offline FleshArtist

  • Infernalist
  • Ancillus
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Reputation: 14
Re: DDS plugin?
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2017, 04:22:25 AM »
No problem, check your messages, Malkav.

Offline Haffermanle

  • Fledgling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Reputation: 0
Re: DDS plugin?
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2017, 07:07:02 PM »
How did paint.net work out?

 

* Game Files