collapse

* Notice

Important notice (31 July): We have recently recovered from a nearly two day downtime due to an attack. No data was lost or stolen but the server has been reinstalled as a precaution. Please let us know if you encounter any issues. We apologise for the unacceptable inconvenience. Please read here for more information.

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Blender - export MDL file overwriting on the original MDL model , Help ! ;)  (Read 196 times)

Offline Marius217

  • Neonate
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Reputation: +2/-1

Greetings to all, See if you can help me. I have tried to get into Blender to modify some already established models. For example: shorten a character's coat and see that it works well in the Game. but when trying to Export the MDL Model I can't do it, I get: Model vertices Dont Macth Blender vertices.
What can I do to make it work and fit the modified MDL file over the Original one?


On the other hand, I have seen some models like the Lasombra 2 that are combined, the hat, the coat and the Character, they are independent of each other. How can I return the PC models in their entirety. since I can only transform the character but I cannot attract even the Hat and the coat. also when I use VAMPED 92 to export it to Blender.


I hope you can help me. It really is frustrating. hahahahaha. A hug and stay safe.  :cometome:

Offline Norrwin

  • Neonate
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Reputation: +1/-0

Hello, you do very nice work with characters.


First import into blender and immediately export without making any changes. If the export is successful then make a blender file to reflect this, for example import SomeRandomName and after export is successful save as SomeRandomName_Org.blend. If this first step isn't successful there is no need to continue as something is wrong with the tools you are using and it needs to be fixed before proceeding, more on this later.


The same process applies to making recover save points as the work continues, after an important change is successfully exported make a blender save to reflect the change. For example after shortened coat is successfully exported make a new save SomeRandomName_ShortenCoat.blend. That way you never make bad blender saves and the most you risk losing is one change. I may also make incremental saves between main named saves but delete them all when the final export is successful (and I have made the named Blender save).


If your initial export is successful then the only thing to be careful of is to not alter vertexes in any way. Can't add, delete, or alter their associations in any way (not entirely true but to begin with true enough). You can move them freely just don't alter them. But even being as careful as I know how I still manage to mess them up once in a while as all the Blender versions (that I have tried) seem to have their own odd quirks, most times I never know what went wrong.


If the initial export was not successful the situation becomes a bit more complicated to troubleshoot. First make sure you are using the correct export script. In general never use a script with more function than you need. For example if you are only moving vertex only use the Bloodlines_VERTs script. If you are remapping UV textures only then use Bloodlines_UVs.


But if the original model without any changes still won't export then you will need to make changes to your tools. The best guidance here is to use the latest SDK. In general a lot of the information about matching tools (versions) in documents and guides is specific to a snapshot in time where the info was true, but time has moved on and so does the information.


If you want to mix and match tools there is no problem but you will be on your own to troubleshoot it, meaning you may need to know how to read and debug the programs/scripts yourself. Which is why I suggest using the latest SDK as a lot of effort has already gone into doing the debugging for you. It is actually not that daunting a task to mix and match tools (versions) after you have a little experience but I think it adds unnecessary complications when getting started.

Offline Marius217

  • Neonate
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Reputation: +2/-1
Hi Norrwin :cometome:  Thank you very much for your words and your answer, I will try to follow it step by step, I hope I can follow your step. I have any questions. I am very limited in handling the blender and the SDK. I would love that at some point they make a tutorial of each tool in Video. It would be great, hahahahahaha .. Well, I'm going to try your advice point by point. Any questions I tell you. A hug, and stay safe. :rock: 
« Last Edit: August 04, 2020, 06:00:49 pm by Marius217 »

Offline Norrwin

  • Neonate
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Reputation: +1/-0
Hello again, I know how frustrating it can be getting started. On my first model I probably made 25-30 mistakes where I had the vertex counts not match and had to start over. But it does get better  :grin:

Yes it would be good to have a video tutorial for this part in particular, I should do that. I don't know all the tools (and some of then don't work on my system for unknown reasons) so I couldn't commit to that.

I have been thinking about your post some more and want to add a few thoughts that I hope will make my thoughts more clear. If not just ignore this part.


  • Begin by importing then immediately exporting your MDL.
  • If this works then it means your tools work and only the Blender file is bad, easy to fix.
  • If it doesn't work then the tools are not working and they need to be fixed, possibly more complicated to fix.
  • Either way you can not go forward till you resolve this step.
I don't know any way to recover a bad Blender save. The only way I know is to go backward in Blender save files until you find one that does export successfully, then move forward again with the changes you want. This is why it is important to not make a bad Blender save.

If the problem seems to be with your tools then I would still suggest trying the latest SDK tools as a starting point... I guess a video would be very helpful with this.


The second part of your question about hats and such I do not know. Some of the MDLs I made were a combination of Blender import/export plus HEX editing and some were a combination of Crowbar and HEX editing. If you run into this kind of thing you may need the original creator to explain it. There really isn't any way I know to answer this question except to go through each MDL file case by case. But I don't think this is a getting started issue so it can probably wait for some time.


When importing/exporting MDLs the Blender console displays messages about the MDL that can be useful for troubleshooting. I copied one for Ash below. Using the latest SDK the Blender console is always open and can be selected from the Windows task bar. As you can see the vertex match with 8717 each.

You can look at these console messages to get some ideas as to what might have happened. If it is only off by one or two there was probably just some small mistake in editing. If it is off by a lot then something much more serious is wrong.




Offline Marius217

  • Neonate
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Reputation: +2/-1

Hola   Norrwin    
  :rock:
 
I understand that the Vertices do not match, what happens is that I use the SPLIT Tool and then I remove it (the bottom of the layer), I know that I should not do it so that the vertices cannot match when exporting it. But ... Even though I separated it and used the scale option to minimize it, I couldn't export it. I get the same: "The vertices of the non-Macth models ...." Can't I export the model without overwriting it on the original? I mean, can I create a new Model.MDL and then put it in the Vampire Directory? Thanks for your time my friend. I am sending you the File that I was working on in Blender (there are two One Original and the other with the Coat cut off) plus the textures and the Model.mdl. In addition to the Model that is Armor 0 (Tremere). In case you want to take a look. Stay safe [size=78%]Be save[/size]!
:cometome:
« Last Edit: August 05, 2020, 03:13:50 am by Marius217 »

Offline Norrwin

  • Neonate
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Reputation: +1/-0
Hey Marius, I know the struggle well!

Imagine you have a square created by two polygons. Because the edge where the two polygons fit together is shared, the vertex on that edge can also be shared. If this is the case then only four vertex are used to fully describe this square (two polygons).

If you now split the square into two separate polygons four vertex is no longer enough, you now need six and this is where the problems begin. You can not export this modification because the vertex counts no longer match.

If you look at this post near the end in the code block you will see exactly this case, two polygons (triangles) with two shared (2947 and 2952) and two unique (2951 and 2946) vertex for a total of four. Splitting these apart would create six unique vertex.

The export does not overwrite the original, it does create a new file but the rule about adding, deleting, or modifying vertex always applies. There is no way around it until we have a compiler that works with animated models. About the only thing you can do is move vertex around, sorry.

The good news is people have done some amazing things working with these restrictions but it might not always be as easy and straight forward as it could be. I don't have any good advice for you, I think you are doing the right things, try something like splitting and if it works great, if not now you know to try some alternate way.

Offline Marius217

  • Neonate
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Reputation: +2/-1


Well, I thank you very much, :rock:

I will try what that you tell me. A hug !!!
 :smile: !!!

 

SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2020, SimplePortal