collapse

Author Topic: Adding new props to areas.  (Read 370 times)

Offline undedavenger

  • Fledgling
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Adding new props to areas.
« on: April 16, 2019, 12:53:37 AM »
How hard would it be to add more poster/artwork or other objects to existing scenes? I'd like to add some wall decorations in places like Asylum, Sin Bin, Red Spot, etc. So many of the rooms in this game are just square boxes. I've seen a few mods that do this to things like the havens.

Offline IanW

  • Methuselah
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Onyx Path Community Manager
    • Onyx Path Publishing
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2019, 07:15:53 AM »
As far as I know, you have to add the props or decals in the map editor, and then recompile the map.
Ian A. A. Watson
Onyx Path Community Manager
VTM portal - Tabletop primer

Offline argikt

  • Antediluvian
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2019, 07:57:49 AM »
As IanW says, you must decompile the map, then open it with the hammer, add the props, and recompile it.
Both tools are in the SDK.

Offline Wesp5

  • Administratrix
  • Antediluvian
  • *****
  • Posts: 5997
  • Unofficial Patcher
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2019, 08:35:18 AM »
For models and decals only you don't need to recompile the map. Adding them to the entities using VPKTools will work just fine!

Offline undedavenger

  • Fledgling
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2019, 05:30:45 PM »
Thanks Wesp!

Okay, for asylum, I just want to add some original decals to the walls for murals or posters. Same thing for Glaze, Red Spot, and a few other places. For Sin Bin, I'd really like to put in a few of those marquees from Vesuvius with the lightbulbs around them like video stores used to have.  Maybe outside the Nocturne, too.

Is there a guide or step by step somewhere on how to do this?
« Last Edit: April 16, 2019, 06:00:57 PM by Wesp5 »

Offline Wesp5

  • Administratrix
  • Antediluvian
  • *****
  • Posts: 5997
  • Unofficial Patcher
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2019, 06:04:45 PM »
Is there a guide or step by step somewhere on how to do this?

Check out Dheu's modding guide, which is in the Patch_Extras folder. Nowadays I decompile the maps I want to change, do the change in Hammer were the placement is easier, then save the vmf file, open it in a text editor and copy the changes into the entity file using VPKTools.

Offline undedavenger

  • Fledgling
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2019, 07:04:30 PM »
Thank you Wesp, I will look into it. Hopefully I will be able to upload my retexes and "adjustments" soon.

Offline dracul841

  • Fledgling
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2019, 11:00:13 PM »
Yeah, I tried it before. But crashing hammer stopped me. I wanted to make santa monica less empty. With extra props, decals and rooms. Hope you will finish it.

Offline argikt

  • Antediluvian
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2019, 08:07:09 AM »
Yeah, I tried it before. But crashing hammer stopped me. I wanted to make santa monica less empty. With extra props, decals and rooms. Hope you will finish it.

If you want, I can record a short video adding a prop in SM map.
Like Like x 2 View List

Offline undedavenger

  • Fledgling
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2019, 09:52:48 PM »
Yeah, I tried it before. But crashing hammer stopped me. I wanted to make santa monica less empty. With extra props, decals and rooms. Hope you will finish it.

If you want, I can record a short video adding a prop in SM map.

I would LOVE that!

Offline argikt

  • Antediluvian
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2019, 08:25:28 AM »
Sure here is:
In this video I add another car into the Santa Monica parking.

1- I assume you have installed the SDK...
2- Open bsp decompiler
3- Select the map t o decompile. (santa monica maps name start with sm_*****)
4- Decompile it in a no game folder
5- Open hammer editor
6- Select the file
7- Navigate the map
8- I selected an existing prop to copy-paste
9- Change the skin of the prop to another
10- Compile the map
11- The compiled map goes to your default bloodlines directory overwritting the old. Is very importent make a copy of the original map previously...
12- Run the game!


&feature=youtu.be
Like Like x 1 View List

Offline Wesp5

  • Administratrix
  • Antediluvian
  • *****
  • Posts: 5997
  • Unofficial Patcher
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2019, 02:17:31 PM »
1- I assume you have installed the SDK...
2- Open bsp decompiler
3- Select the map t o decompile. (santa monica maps name start with sm_*****)
4- Decompile it in a no game folder
5- Open hammer editor
6- Select the file
7- Navigate the map
8- I selected an existing prop to copy-paste
9- Change the skin of the prop to another

And here the shortcut if you don't want to compile the map which might fail due to several reasons and might take ages:

10- Save the hammer file (.vmf), open it with a text editor, look for the item you added (should be a prop_dynamic, give it a name to find it easily) and copy everything between the brackets.
11- Open the original map with VPKTools, paste the new item at the end, remove editor comments until only brackets are left at start and end and save it.
12- Run the modified map and the new prop should be there (the game will rebuild the ain files and give a message about it, this is normal and happens only once).
Like Like x 1 View List

Offline undedavenger

  • Fledgling
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Adding new props to areas.
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2019, 07:59:15 PM »
Thanks you guys! Let's see how much damage I can do.... lol