PlanetVampire.com Forum

Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines => Bloodlines Modding => Topic started by: Signothorn on April 20, 2010, 05:39:18 am

Title: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Signothorn on April 20, 2010, 05:39:18 am
Originally posted in the old forum by MrMorfium 

Hi.

I just wanted to announce that bloodlines now has a working multiplayer mod.

But please read this first:

Working:
- Connect
- Run around (no jumping)
- Shooting (Does't hurt players, only NPCs)
- Playing together ONE map. (No teleports, Society of Leopold is funny ^^)
Using disciplines (only working againsts NPCs feeding won't work)

Not working:
- Jumping (This is THE bug. If we fix it everything will be just fine. HELP! XD)
- Hurting Players
- Falling (If you touch the ground because of jumping or falling the game crashes :(
- Teams

Freakin' Buggy:
- Quests (Ok, they're not for MP... But playable)


Our BIG Problem:
The Jump/Fall Bug
The reason for this bug is the maxplayers cvar.
If we change it to a value higher than 1 the game will crash while jumping/falling. I have no clue what exactly causes the problem and am happy for every help I could get.

I'll be working on it. But actually I see no way to fix it...

If there are any interested people out there who have experience in modding, hexing, debugging, or whatever, please help us and we'll maybe get a fully working multiplayer bloodlines.

And yes. I will upload the mod soon again.
Untill then you'll have to use 0.1 alpha.


Screenshots:
These two are lightened so you can see it better.
http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/5315/spsoc10000bf7.jpg (http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/5315/spsoc10000bf7.jpg)
http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/7410/hwcemetery10000vk8.jpg (http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/7410/hwcemetery10000vk8.jpg)
Sorry to post no preview. But the img/url tag system in this board is more than weird and doesn't work at all for me...

Here's the Alpha of the mod.
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=J1CVG0PU (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=J1CVG0PU)

I'll soon create a status page and post the link here.

The readme in that package is german. So I'll post a translation later. Sorry but I'm really busy.

-Morfium

EDIT:
http://morfium.mo.funpic.de/bo/ (http://morfium.mo.funpic.de/bo/)
The site. As I said, I have no time so don't blame me for the plain html file. ^^

Original discussion on this mod can be found here. (http://forumplanet.gamespy.com/bloodlines_modding/b50392/7651883/p1/?89) The multiplayer mod is also included in the current Unofficial Patch.
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 07, 2011, 10:04:45 pm
how do I change the map?
I tried to write maps in console  but gave error    :suicide:
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Daecat on January 08, 2011, 02:54:16 am
Wish someone could make the whole game playable in co-op, I've pretty much given up hope  :deadhorse:
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on January 08, 2011, 05:07:49 pm
how do I change the map?

The map console command should work, but some of the maps will just crash...
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 08, 2011, 10:16:28 pm
I write maps in console and the maps list Will Not Appear   :chinscratch:
so I do not know how to exchange maps

:suicide:


sorry my english is bad
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on January 09, 2011, 10:31:04 am
The correct command is "map" and not "maps".
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 09, 2011, 03:42:11 pm
 map

CModelLoader::Map_IsValid:  Empty mapname!!!
map load failed:  not found or invalid


maps

Usage:  maps <substring>
maps * for full listing



Nothing Happens
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on January 09, 2011, 05:49:25 pm
The right command is "map name", where name is the name of the map. Starting with ch (Chinatown), hw (Hollywood) la (Downtown), sm (Santa Monica) or sp (Special). Type the first letters and the game will auto-suggest available maps...
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 09, 2011, 08:07:20 pm
Really thanks dude  now I understood   :drink:
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 09, 2011, 08:28:35 pm
all the maps that I tested give error in multiplyaer Mode , but works in single player ;/
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on January 10, 2011, 09:11:36 am
all the maps that I tested give error in multiplyaer Mode , but works in single player ;/

Keep trying, I know there were some that worked but I don't remember which. You are aware that the server has to stay floating in noclip mode otherwise the game will crash?
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 10, 2011, 08:22:29 pm
the game has to be in noclip I did not know this detail  :chinscratch:  thanks   I'll test
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 10, 2011, 09:02:42 pm
it did not work
often arises:   endgame_server disconnected   

:facepalm:
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on January 11, 2011, 08:43:31 am
often arises:   endgame_server disconnected   

Hm, have you followed the rest of the instructions in the UP readme?
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 11, 2011, 03:46:27 pm
I read the readme but maybe I missed something,I used noclip to change map but I think it has a lot of  crash ; /
how works the multiplayer mod in The Unofficial Patch ?
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on January 11, 2011, 07:30:42 pm
Server:
1. exec multiplayer.cfg   enable multiplayer support on the server
2. map 'level'            load server map, admin must only spectate!
3. noclip                 server admin needs to stay in noclip mode!
4. sv_gravity "800"       after clients connected: turn gravity on

Client:
1. connect ip             connect to server at ip address as client
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Daecat on January 11, 2011, 08:37:55 pm
Anyone else considered working on this further? Please? Wesp, you're awesome, ever taken a crack at this?
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 11, 2011, 10:02:39 pm
Really Thanks   :vampsmile:
 :thanku:

everything worked

but... when I walk the game crash ;/
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on January 12, 2011, 08:51:07 am
everything worked

but... when I walk the game crash ;/

That sounds as if you are moving the server player. The server player is not allowed to touch the floor. Thus the noclip and gravity precautions. As for fixing multiplayer, I've enogh on my hands with the normal patch right now, thank you ;). Also I'm not much into multiplayer at all and don't have an easy network available to do so. I just tested that the setup in the readme works, but I agree with you that this would be something for a cool mod!
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Daecat on January 12, 2011, 11:03:19 pm
Understood, I will try to forget about this again until maybe another year or so :P

Sorry Astennu, I feel your pain!
Title: Re: Bloodlines, working Multiplayer Mode. (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Astennu on January 13, 2011, 12:49:48 am
ahahhaha okay

worth while trying
 :drink:
Title: Re: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Lictor on March 28, 2011, 12:26:25 pm
This project make any progress ?
Title: Re: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Lictor on March 31, 2011, 12:39:22 pm
my friend I don't know this is the same thing in your patch ? Now this bugs fixed ?
Title: Re: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on March 31, 2011, 02:02:41 pm
my friend I don't know this is the same thing in your patch ? Now this bugs fixed ?

This is the same thing, and no, it hasn't been developed much further...
Title: Re: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: VentrueIan on April 03, 2011, 11:35:16 am
I'm getting to the point where I can work on it, quick question, can it support at least two clients?
Title: Re: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on April 03, 2011, 01:22:46 pm
I'm getting to the point where I can work on it, quick question, can it support at least two clients?

I think so. I only ever could try it with one client, but otherwise it would make little sense.
Title: Re: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: VentrueIan on April 03, 2011, 02:00:02 pm
then couldn't we give the server pc a blank invisible model, then create a controllable npc for the server by rebinding the control keys to python scripts? (I'm in the process of doing it now with wolfie, and wasn't that used in making the comp mod as well?)
Title: Re: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Wesp5 on April 03, 2011, 05:34:29 pm
then couldn't we give the server pc a blank invisible model, then create a controllable npc for the server by rebinding the control keys to python scripts?

That could be possible but over my head as well ;). I'm not a python programer :). As far as I know the MP mode also crashes on a lot of maps so someone would need to find out why and whether fixing it would hamper the SM game. Otherwise a pure MP mod could be an option in which new special multiplayer maps are used. After all the biggest issue is that players can't hurt each other so possible MP scenearious would be raiding the Leopol Society with multiple vampires or clearing out the Hallowbrook hotel with several hunters.
Title: Re: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: VentrueIan on April 03, 2011, 05:53:15 pm
then couldn't we give the server pc a blank invisible model, then create a controllable npc for the server by rebinding the control keys to python scripts?

That could be possible but over my head as well ;). I'm not a python programer :). As far as I know the MP mode also crashes on a lot of maps so someone would need to find out why and whether fixing it would hamper the SM game. Otherwise a pure MP mod could be an option in which new special multiplayer maps are used. After all the biggest issue is that players can't hurt each other so possible MP scenearious would be raiding the Leopol Society with multiple vampires or clearing out the Hallowbrook hotel with several hunters.

Then after I finish the code, you help me test it?  :vampsmile: I only have one comp that can run bloodlines, evertyhing else here is either a tablet or a laptop that can't handle it...

And you wouldn't want to hamper the development of badassary that would result, would you?! (not from me, mind you, I just plan on getting the thing to work, I have no intentions of doing level/story development.) =p
Title: Re: [Tutorial] Bloodlines Multiplayer (Buggy but working :D)
Post by: Daoloth on August 21, 2011, 07:16:28 am
Is someone still working on this?

I'm really interested in this project. are there any advances from the original MP mod?

I dont know much about source modding -yet-, but i'm reading about it, and i know some python and C++. If anyone is working on this and wants the help of a newbie, let me know =)
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2020, SimplePortal