* Notice

Important notice: From 20/12/2017 (after a server change) Microsoft had been blocking email from PlanetVampire.com. If you have a Hotmail, Outlook, or Live.com email address (or have been trying to message a member with such an email address) your messages might not have got through. You may also have been unable to receive password reset/activation emails. As of 31/01/2018: our server's new IP address, previously used by a spammer, has been unblocked. You may wish to try again if you have been having problems.

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Helping me understand DLG  (Read 181 times)

Offline morton

• Fledgling
Helping me understand DLG
« on: February 24, 2018, 12:35:39 PM »
Hello everyone.

I started playing Antitribu again a few Days ago and started to wonder, why a friend of mine had an option in the Carson-dialog i had not.

She had Animalism 1
I had Animalism 2

I found these lines

Probably wanted behaviour:
She gets line 55, I get line 56.

Expected behaviour:
She gets line 55, I get 55 too, since the conditions match for me too and the first LimitSet is supposed to make all other LimitSet(?,6) functions return false.

Observed behaviour:
She gets line 55, i get none of the options.

Which raises several questions for me:

• Why dont i see the Line 56 ever? (Even if i remove all conditions except the disciplines)
  • Why is it somtimes "&" and sometimes "and"?
  • Why would you only test if Carson is a possible companion [companion.Test(pc,npc)] in 2/4 cases?
  • If i understood right, in LimitSet(?,6), the 6 serves as an ID. I am not sure if the ID needs to be unique in game or just in the dialog file (where no other LimitSet() functions are. Weirdly all tutorials i found did LimitSet(1,2) and LimitSet(2,2). Why not use 1 as an ID it would be less confusing?
  • Why not use LimitSet(3,?) and LimitSet(4,?) on lines 59 and 60?

I hope u can help me with my confusion there.